Montreal Comedy Competition: Sunday April 7th

The first edition of Montreal Comedy Competition was produced by Ali Mohammadi (@AliMoComedy) on March 15, 2009 at the Montreal Comedy Works in downtown Montreal.
The idea first flourished to bring about a home-grown comedy competition to the Montreal scene in order to put the spotlight on talented Comedians, in and outside of Montreal, with 6 months to 3 years of stage experience. Many Comedians nominated themselves for the first competition with only ten names drawn to compete. A panel of three judges were present in order to score the participants based on pre-defined categories such as material, creativity, stage presence, audience reaction and over-all style.
The first winner of this competition was Fasail Butt. Drawing on his Pakistani-Muslim roots, Faisal has been able to appeal to a variety of audiences both young and old. He has opened for some of Canada’s best comics including David Pryde, Sugar Sammy and Massiom and John Dore. The second winner was Nick Brazao, who is a graduate of the Theatre Program at Concordia University where he starred in a number of productions. The third winner was Eddy King, who was the highlight in the contest Relve de Juste Pour Rire, and was a finalist in the contest En route vers mon premier Gala de Juste Pour Rire. He was also one of the comedians that participated in the success of Rachid Badouri’s Just For Laughs Gala. The fourth winner was Eman, a talented comedian who has appeared in the NY Arab-American Comedy Festival, Amman Comedy Festival and the Just for Laughs comedy festival. The fifth winner was Darren Henwood, who is the producer and host of the popular monthly Lowdown Comedy show. Last, but not least, is our sixth winner, Emery Fine, who is a Mcgill Student and a regular at Montreal’s comedy scene.
When: Sunday, April 7, 2013 at 8:30 pm.
Where: Montreal Comedy Works, 1238 Bishop Street, Montreal, QC H3G 2E3
Cost: $10, can be paid at the door on the night of the event
Prize: Cash prize to the winner determined by a panel of three judges and a People’s Choice Award given to a comedian selected by the audience members.
Find out more at

About Author /

Start typing and press Enter to search